Five Wings in Team of the Season

No less than five players from Blue Square Bet South champions Welling United are featured in the Team of the Season for 2012/13.

The Wings marched to the league title with the most number of wins and goals scored, while they lost the least amount of games and had the stingiest defence.

As a result their whole backline barring the goalkeeper make an appearance in the Team of the Year namely Ben Martin, Anthony Acheampong, Fraser Franks and Loui Fazakerley.

Welling boss Jamie Day, who was named Conference South Manager of the Season, is also included, capping off a superb campaign for the London outfit.

Ollie Palmer earned a spot after bagging 25 goals for Havant & Waterlooville last term, which saw him scoop the Player of the Season award as well as the Golden Boot.

Jamie White also made the grade after his 25 goals helped fire Salisbury City to the top tier of non-league football as play-off winners, with the striker sharing the Golden Boot honour with Palmer.

Conference South Team of the Season:

Lee Worgan (Tonbridge Angels)

Ben Martin (Welling United)

Anthony Acheampong (Welling United)

Fraser Franks (Welling United)

Kenny Clark (Chelmsford City)

Glen Southam (Eastleigh)

Jamie Slabber (Chelmsford City)

Jamie Day (Welling United)

Jamie White (Salisbury City)

Ollie Palmer (Havant & Waterlooville)

Loui Fazakerley (Welling United)

Posted: Monday , June 10, 2013